top of page
  • Writer's pictureMike Zilles

NTA EBulletin October 16, 2022

Updated: Oct 28, 2022

In this issue:

Parent/Educator Collaborative

Would you like to share your experience of how budget cuts and staffing shortages are impacting NPS students with parents? Come to the next Parent/Educator Collaborative meeting! Please RSVP by clicking here.

Student Loan Forgiveness Some follow-ups to members regarding the Student Loan Forgiveness workshop the NTA hosted on October 13. The deadline for applying for public service loan forgiveness under the new guidelines is October 31st.HR has to verify your employment as part of the application. They have asked that you submit your application form to them by the end of the day on October 24 to insure that they will be able to return to form in time for you to submit it before the deadline. Anything you fill out by hand on the form must be in "dark ink," that is black ink. Don't sign the form with blue ink. If you were not able to attend the workshop, Cambridge Credit Counseling also presented a similar virtual workshop for the Arlington and Belmont Education Associations. You can click here to view that workshop.

Fair Share Amendment We have two more canvasses scheduled for Newton: 1. Wednesday, October 19, from 5-7 pm, meeting at the Waban Library Center at 1608 Beacon Street. 2. Sunday, October 30, from 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., meeting at Newton North High School, in the Lowell Street parking lot. Click on the links to RSVP.

Negotiations Update The NTA Negotiations Team will be meeting with the NPS Negotiations Team for the first time on October 20. We will begin by negotiating ground rules, after which we will set a date for exchanging our initial bargaining proposals, which will likely happen sometime in November. NTA Negotiations Team

  • Michael Zilles, President, NTA

  • Elizabeth Ross Del Porto, First Vice President, Angier Elementary

  • Liz Simpson, Second Vice President, Oak Hill Middle School

  • Christine Walsh, Second Release Officer and Treasurer, NTA

  • Michael Burtch, Unit A Member, Bigelow Middle School

  • Valerie Brunache Lewis, Unit C Member, Countryside Elementary School

  • Sue Cohen, Recording Secretary, Springboard Program

  • Brenna Green, Unit A Member, Cabot Elementary

  • Lynn Penczar, Unit A Member, Lincoln-Eliot Elementary

  • Elana Cutler, Unit A Member, Brown Middle

  • Derek Knapp, Unit A Member, Newton North High

  • Marcia Okun, Unit A Member, Newton South High

  • Jayme Ellis, Unit A Member, Burr Elementary

  • Ally Andrews, Unit B Member, Franklin, Horace Mann, and Lincoln-Eliot

  • Dan Rubin, Unit B Member, Newton South High

  • Sarah Wysocki, Unit C Member, Newton North High

  • Thuy Truong, Unit C Member, Newton Early Childhood Program

  • Janette Patel, Unit C Member, Oak Hill Middle School

  • Tony Sbordone, Unit E Member, Ed Center

  • Thomas Buchau, Unit E Member

  • Jason Leto, Field Representative, MTA


bottom of page