The Executive Committee (EC) is comprised of the Executive Officers and Committee Chairs.  The committee meets monthly to oversee and conduct the business of the association. Members of the Executive Committee are expected to attend all regular and special meetings of the Executive Committee and all regular and special meetings of the Representative Assembly; to participate in the business of the Executive Committee; to conduct themselves in the best interests of the Association; and to carry out the policies adopted by the Representative Assembly and/or the Executive Committee.

Full Time Release Officers:


Michael Zilles, President


NTA Office


Christine Walsh, Treasurer


NTA Office




Sue Cohen, 1st Vice President

Bigelow Middle School

Lynn Penczar, 2nd Vice President 

Lincoln-Eliot Elementary


Lauren Ludman, Recording Secretary

Ward Elementary


Rachael Simkins-Makela, Assistant Treasurer

Zervas Elementary

Committee Chairs:


Budget Advisory –

Christine Walsh, NTA Office

Community Relations –

Jane Frantz, Bigelow Middle School

Elections –

Jean Corbo-Hudak, Ward Elementary


Professional Rights & Responsibilities –

Christine Walsh, NTA Office

Legislative – TBD 


Membership –

Rachael Simkins-Makela, Zervas Elementary

Negotiations –

Jamie Rinaldi, NSHS


Professional Development –

Sue Cohen, Bigelow Middle School


Webmaster –

Peter Radonich, Bigelow Middle School, NNHS


Communications (Social Media) –

Meghan Decatur, Ward Elementary

Contract Action Team –

Ariana Foster, Lincoln-Eliot Elementary

Jeremiah Hill, NSHS

Mike Schlegelmilch, NNHS

Liz Simpson, Oak Mill Middle School 

© 2020 by Newton Teachers Association. 

Newton Teachers Association

46 Austin Street

Newtonville, MA  02460


  • Facebook
  • Instagram